Pages

Wednesday, September 22, 2010

The 3 Main Things Wrong With America

Hellooooooooooo! Its that time again. Been going pretty serious the past few days. Time to take it down a notch today. Today's rant is going to be about changes. In America, we do alot of things well. Granted. Many things we do are fantastic. But, we also do things that are very 'WTF'ish.' We have many laws, policies, or idea's that are so simple, and so accepted across the world that we think we are to good for. Well I do believe that these following 3 things are reduclous and need to be changed, i'm going to try and have to some fun with this one. More pun's and jokes today. It's Hump Day, we all need a laugh.

Number 1 (This is for all my college friends) - Legalization. IT IS TIME TO LEGALIZE POT AND LOWER THE DRINKING AGE TO 18. Its not 1971 anymore. There is no more "War on Drugs" anymore. We know more about drugs than 40 years ago. Hell, pharmaceutical companies make thousands of drugs today that are more powerful than anything there was in 1970. I come from a relatively small down. And i would be hard pressed to find someone who has not tried beer or alcohol BY 16. Let alone 18 or even the legal age of 21. Now the number who have tried marijuana are not assss rampant, but but 18, I would say a sizable majority have taken at least one puff. I mean it is just ridiculous. Your telling me I can go to war and get killed, come home missing a limb at 19 because a IED blew my fucking leg off from the knee down, and I can not have a beer? Or I have the right to vote over any issue, but no politician or powerful figures will not allow a vote to legalize? Do not think the votes are not there. They are there. Every year since 1970, the opposition of it has decreased, while the people in favor has adversely increased every year. And for medical usage? The number is like 85% in favor. Up over 35% since 1970. The votes are there. The amount the government could, and would, make in taxing it, would be a very nice help as well. It will not be a lot, but it would alleviate some problems. 

(Wait, I may be more serious than i originally thought) 

Number 2 - Oil. America has been getting gang-banged by the Saudi Royal Family since around 1950. You might be laughing, but that was not a joke. Lol. The House of Saud control's the largest oil reserve in the world. And the scary part is we only get around 15% of our oil from them. We do draw the largest amount's from here at home and Canada, who have the 2nd largest reserve.  But because we stick our nose into everything in the Middle East it seems, and even more important, because we love Israel so much, the Saudi's spike the price of oil. They do to any country supporting Israel. Why does this matter? Because it is bankrupting America, and every citizen. We are, well were, who knows anymore, but at one time were one of the most technologically advanced countries in the world. Why are we dependent on fossil fuel's anymore? Why do we still let Shell, B.P., and Exxon stick their gas pumps up our ass? There should be fleet's of car's running off of electric, hydrogen, ethanol, or I have even heard wind tossed out there. Yes, those are out there now, but they are in their infancy. No reason why we still use the same technology that we used in WWII. You still see anything that was used in 1945 that has not been upgraded 1000 times over today? Time to break the mold.


And finally, Number 3 - Population Discrimination. Now, some of you are having a 'smh' moment. (btw, took me weeks to figure out what the hell that meant) Population Discrimination is something I have just started hearing about from pundants, most notably from Bill Maher. What this is boils down to is two of the oldest staples of America. The Senate and the House of Representatives. Now, the House members all boil down to population. The more populated the area, the more House members. And its counterpart, The Senate, always have 2 elected Senators from each state. The Senate was implemented to give the smaller states a voice. Now the problem I have with this is this. In the state of Delaware, there are 2 Senators and 1 House member. Now take the state of California. California has 2 Senators and 53 House members. Delaware's Senators represent around 400,000 people each. Senators of California represent around 18,000,000. How is that fair? Each California House member represents over 600,000 people thats more than Delaware's Senators. Now, I am not bashing the Founding Father's. Not at all. This system worked for them, when it was 1776. Its 2010. Two of my all time favorite quotes by George Washington and Thomas Jefferson (yes, i know their quotes. Not every quote comes from a fucking Nicholas Sparks book) are these:

"The basis of our political systems is the right of the people to make and to alter their constitutions of government - George Washington"


"The spirit of resistance to government is so valuable on certain occasions, that I wish it to be always kept alive. It will often be exercised when wrong but better so than not to be exercised at all. I like a little rebellion now and then. It is like a storm in the atmosphere - Thomas Jefferson"


When something is ineffective with government, contrary to what most of the public and politicians think, change is a good thing. It is what the Founders of these United States wanted. It is patriotic to want change. Example, people who are against the Mosque, instead of just saying how wrong it is and foaming at the mouth. GET UP AND FUCKING DO SOMETHING! Get out and vote. Petition. Referendums. Write your elected officials. 


Here is what I want:

1. Repeal the ban on possessing and the use of marijuana and lower the national drinking age to 18. Impose a tax on marijuana. Increase the penalty, harshly, for DUI and DWI.
2. Cut on dependence on foreign fossil's fuels by 50% by 2025 and be completely off it by 2040.
3. A complete restructuring of the United States Congress. Thats right, I said it, wanna fight about it? I say base it all on population. Now I really do not have some master system in place to please everyone. This is a bold freaking request. Maybe I will in another blog. Gives you a reason to tune in...

Tuesday, September 21, 2010

Mosque Mosque Baby

(Now, before I start, let me state RIGHT NOW by stating my deepest condolences for EVERY SINGLE PERSON who was lost in this horrible tragedy. Also to every family member who lost a brother, sister, son, daughter, wife, or husband on that day. Every fireman, policeman, EMT, and every volunteer who was down there during and after is a hero in my eyes, something this country truly lacks. So, everyone who might try to demonize me as a Muslim lover, a Anti-American, or whatever you come up with, I pity you. I am hard pressed to find someone who loves America more than me.)

---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

It's that time again. Two in two days, churning them out. I have tryed to stay someone relevent on my last post, but I have mostly stayed away from real emotional pieces. What I mean by that is pieces that get John Q Public very fired up and loud. But, time to tackle one. And i'm going with the still somewhat hot topic of the now infamous Ground Zero Mosque, which really is not a mosque, its a Community Center that has a worshiping place inside. Its a big difference. Would you call a hospital with a chapel in in a church?

[[[ "The First Amendment protects freedom of religion, Senator Reid respects that, but thinks that the mosque should be built someplace else." -Statement from Senate Majority Leader Harry Reid. ]]]

First, to everyone who wants to say how this is a monumental 'F You' by the Muslims. Shut The Hell Up. Like they are on some kind of power 'roid trip??? Like the whole Muslim world wants to bend America over???? Lets discuss some building specs. on the Community Center. It is over two blocks from the Memorial site. The buildings in front, behind, and on either side will be larger than the Community Center, so it becoming some huge symbol can not architecturally happen. The Community Center itself, besides having a worship area, will also have a basketball court, a culinary class, oh, and A FUCKING 9/11 MEMORIAL!!!! Bet Fox News or MSNBC have not reported that to you. I do not remember seeing it.

Also, do not forget the fact that Muslim's were killed in the towers and surrounding building on 9/11. The number, which is excluding the hijackers, credited experts estimate to be anywhere from 20-75, but no one knows for sure. A Muslim Imam has stated it was 1,000, but he has been discredited.

[[["Nazis don't have the right to put up a sign next to the Holocaust Museum in Washington. We would never accept the Japanese putting up a site next to Pearl Harbor. There's no reason for us to accept a mosque next to the World Trade Center." -Gingrich]]]

The worldwide number of faith practicing Muslims is over 1.3 billion people. That is over 1/6 of the entire worlds population. The top 5 countries with the highest Muslim populations are in order: Indonesia, Pakistan, India, Bangladesh, and Egypt. They have combined around 700,000,000 Muslims. You know where the hijackers were from? Of the 19, only one of them came from the above, Egypt. The others came, mostly from Saudi Arabia, also the United Arab Emirates (UAE) and Lebanon. Saudi, UAE, and Lebanon fall in at #16, #48, and #54. To think all Muslim's hate America, and that every Muslim wants to wage war against America, like Republican figure heads Newt Gingrich and Sarah 'Wasilla" Palin, is just plain ignorant, and its scary. So nix that.

[[["The folks who want to build this mosque — who are really radical Islamists who want to triumphally prove that they can build a mosque right next to a place where 3,000 Americans were killed by radical Islamists — those folks don't have any interest in reaching out to the community. They're trying to make a case about supremacy." — Former House Speaker Newt Gingrich, a potential 2012 presidential candidate."]]]

Most Muslim, like Imam Rauf, the man behind the Community Center, which is what it is, are very pro-America. Imam Rauf has worked with the Bush Administration on helping heal American-Muslim relations in middle-eastern countries. He has spoken on national TV, condemming all Muslims who commit acts of terror, as well as condemming 9/11 outright. To be fair, he also has said things that are very critical of America and our foregin policy. But I would venture to say the over whelming vast majority of the Muslim world are not Anti-America. but that is mostly my opinion. And to the ones who are are anti-American, I guarantee if we left Iraq and Afghanistan, as well as Israel, you would see a lot of the Muslim countries and Muslim people start to come out and become at minimum neutral, more likely would start forging relationships in some capacity with America.

[[[ "Obama defended the right of all Americans to practice religion as they see fit, but some are against building a mosque just blocks away from the biggest tragedy on US soil in the history of the country." -Tweet from former Alaskan Governor Sarah Palin." ]]]

This whole argument starts and ends with one simple fact that most reading this take for granted and is all these people want. Freedom of Religion, 1st Amendment rights. We all know 9/11 was horrible. But did you all also know that there are ALREADY TWO MOSQUE'S WITHIN 10 BLOCKS OF THE WORLD TRADE CENTER?!?! Or that there is a non-denominational place of worship built in 2002 in the Pentagon where Muslim's worship daily?!?!?!? Bet you didn't. Mhmm. Terrorism has been happening all over the world, for hundred's of years of now. The term has only caught on in the past decade.

So here is my summary to all this:
1. Allow the Community Center (notice how I keep referring to it as what it really is) to be built. Yes, technically they could, and still could, pick a new place farther away, but, under the Constitution, if you agree or not, it is a person's inherit right to practice their religion how they see fit. The people who will worship at said Center are a peaceful, anti-terrorism Muslim who just want to live their lives.
2. The anti-America retoric being pushed out by our former, current, and future leaders need to end now. It does nothing but add gasoline to a issue that needs nothing of the sort. These people run the free world. You should not spew views that will alienate over 1/6 of the word's population. No matter what .00000000000000000000000000000001% did on 9/11
3. The news media outlets need to take a objective view of this subject and not just pander to its viewers. You are supposed to leave your opinion at home.


In closing, let me once again express my feelings on the subject of 9/11. What happened that day was, well it was beyond any words. I remember exactly where I was the moment I heard. It was the worst tragedy this country has ever experienced. And I can not express the remorse I have for every single person affected that day and those to this day. Also, let no one say I am anti-America. I love my country. I love being American, where else could I do this?

P.S. - I know most people disagree with me, and that is 100% okay. Feel feel to comment, critique, and criticize my argument all you want, I encourage it. But leave it at that. Do not resort to childish name-calling or whatever. Debate the point, not the debater. I recently got into a argument because people feel it add's to a argument to use name-calling, espically over the President. Debate the man's work, not his DNA.

Monday, September 20, 2010

Rise and Reign of the 2nd Galactic Empire

*To all those who are throw by the title, that is a Star Wars reference and shame on you for not knowing it.

Hello again blogisphere. It is that proverbial time again.

Time's are tough today. Worst economic times since the Great Depression. Unemployment is at 9.6% at time of posting this, but that number could easily be 10% or higher depending on all the variables. The national debt is a whopping 13 trillion dollars. Yes children, thats trillion with a 't.' And as I could do a whole segment on that first fact, I think for the majority of this rant, I think I will stick with the latter of the two and stick with the growing debt and how the pork barrel and just gross gross over spending on the defense budget alone is turning America into the De facto 2nd Galactic Empire.

Now, people hear debt and automatically go to blaming our current president. And yes he does deserve partial blame. He is keeping up a war in Afganistan and a "training excerise" in Iraq that alone drain 4 billion dollars a month. 4 billion a month does not seem like much in the sceme of 13 trillion, but after 10 years, it has added up. Added the stimulus package as well as the health care legislation (which i myself am a fan of) and you get a fiscal resume' looks bleak. But I really he doubt he had any other choice and is playing the hand he got dealt, mostly due to the 12 previous administrations, mainly the Republican ones.

Going back all the way to Pres. Truman and the end of WWII, you can see a very obvious trend when you look at the National Debt as percent of GDP (Gross Domestic Product.) Here is a graph to support. The most obvious thing that jumps off to me is the polar difference between the Dems and GOP. Starting with Truman and Ending with Obama, there are 6 Presidents of each party. Of the 6 Dem's, only Obama is on pace to have raised the debt. 1 out of 6. Flip side, 4 of the 6 Presidents of the GOP raised the debt, 3 of them dramatically. You should not have to dramatically raise the debt to get your policies and your ideas across.

Here is a chart showing the unemployment rate since 1948 to 2008. Clinton dropped unemployment from 7.8% at its peak during his administration down to around 4% by 1999. Then under Bush 2, it rose over 3% than what Clinton had it lowered to. And by time Obama took office, the recession was already rolling and holding the level under 12% was a feat it itself. So people who want to bash the current administration for failed economic policies and rampant unemployment, your anger is misplaced. Yes, more possibly could have been done. But the fact is that the president and his whole political party have a fantastic track record of reducing debt and also decreasing unemployment.

Whew, ok, got that out of the way. Now on to my main point. Let me throw some numbers out at you.
$670 billion - U.S budget for Defense.
$611 billion - Budget for Defense for for the next 14 in spending (China, France, UK, Russia, Japan, Germany, Saudi Arabia, India, Italy, Brazil, South Korea, Canada, Australia, and Spain) COM-FUCKING-BINED!!! Anyone eles have a problem with that besides me?!?!?!? What kind of threat are we under that it takes us outspending nations with a combined 3.3 billion people!?!?!?!?!?!? That is around half of the entire world's population!?!?!?!?!?

Trivia time. Who can name, in terms of planes alone, the top two air forces in the world? Give up. The United States and The United States. The USAF and USN control the two largest air forces in the world. I guess we got tired of being number 1 in everything, so we must be number 2 as well i guess. The United States control at least two bases (Army, Navy, Air Force) in Afghanistan, Bulgaria, Iraq, Italy, Japan, Germany, South Korea, Spain, United Kingdom, Israel, Bahrain, and the Philippines. Not to mention the, at least, dozen more countries where we have just one base. PLUS the over 100 camps, bases, naval yards, air fields, ect that are here in the USA. The United States spends per capita $2,115.71 on defense spending. That is double every other country in the world except Israel. That is absolutely ridiculous. It is gross over-spending caused mostly by America's Imperialism view towards foregin policy and its also driven by fear. Fear of a enemy who really is not there.

Now, people might take this as some kind of anti-american rant and some extremist view on policy. Where in fact it could not be more opposite. I love America. More than most. I love that I live in a country where I have the freedom to question my leaders and have a voice.

Here is what I want:
1. Cut defense spending by at least 33% over the next 5 years.
2. Pull 75% of the troops off of bases in countries we are not in a war or "operation" against within the next 10 years.
3. Use the now $333+ billion in new funding to rebuild every interstate highway, school, and hospital in the United States and our territories. That not only updates our crumbling infrastructure, but it creates jobs, which reduces unemployment.

Those 3 things happen, relations all across the world improve because America is leaving area's she is not wanted. Unemployment would drop from the high 9's to at least the high 6's. Guaranteed. Will this ever happen, no. Because America thinks she must patrol the world, and to a extent, we do. As a superpower we do have a responsibility. But no where near the level we patrol things now.

Wednesday, September 15, 2010

Political Ignorance. Time to put some learning on you.



Hello again. It's that time again. Something else is irritating me, and its time to shed some light on it. And that my darlings, is politics. And the overwhelming ignorance and hatred that is flowing today. People today are so enamored and just, unjustly, upset over issues they themselves do not fully understand because of their own rash judgments. People today do not form opinions for themselves. They take what they are on Glenn Beck, Sean Hannity, Keith Olbermann, ect. Some of the "talking heads" of the Right and Left respectfully. People here what they say, and they just agree, merely because they themselves are members of the same political party. And that, is just ignorant.



Now, to put some personal prospective. I myself am a registered Democrat, for the moment. This will change to independent. And yes, I do at times tend to lean more left than i right. I will be the first to admit it. But just because i am a registered a Democrat, does not mean i form my entire political and social agenda around that party and their ideals. And anyone who does do that, is retarded. No one person is EVER 100% Republican or 100% Democratic. I feel the whole two party system needs, at least, to be totally redone, if not totally abolished. But thats for another rant, another time.

The main issue I see with today's politics, is the overwhelming racism and bigotry towards the President. In a recent PEW research poll, almost 1 IN 5 AMERICAN'S believe that President Obama is a Muslim. That is 20% OF THE ENTIRE FUCKING COUNTRY. And of these 20%, 60% of those people learned of his "religion" from the media. So, to put a number on it. 20% of America's is somewhere around 60,000,000 people. What has the man done, besides having the middle name that is similar to a former Iraqi dictator, that would ever suggest that he was a Muslim? Really, give me proof America. Show me something........You can't. There is NOTHING valid to suggest the man is Muslim. And, while on the subject, you "Birthers," you people need to be shot. TO HONESTLY THINK SOMEONE BECAME ELECTED PRESIDENT AND SOMEHOW WAS NOT BORN A AMERICAN CITIZEN, its beyond stupid. I do not have a word to accurately describe how ignorant it really is. And it honestly scares me that someone could think that.

While on the President, let me say this. I am in favor of the man. But to the people to say he is the worst President ever, or that he has not done a thing to further America. Do you not pay attention? The only accurate way to measure a President, is to look at what he promised during his campaign, and did he fulfill said promises. President Bush, who I was a fan of in 2000, not in '04 and not now. Was, by that defination, a good President. The man fulfilled many promises in his 8 years. Yes, missed things and let 2 wars greatly diminish what he actually did. But he was a good president. Now, back to today. Lets name 3 of President Obama's main campaign promises. 1. Health Care Reform. 2. End the war in IRAQ. (He said he always would expand if Afghanistan) 3. Wall Street-Financial Reform / Stimulus Package . Done, Done, and Done. And he hasn't been in office two years yet. Now, some will bitch at Health Care Reform. But it passed. Watered down, but by in large, its what he want. As of September 1st, all combat troops have left Iraq. So accomplished #2. Finally with Wall Street Reform, which most of you reading this will know little of, was just recently passed. As well as the Stimulus Package, which right or wrong to you, was passed and has helped slow the Recession. So, by the true definition on how to accurately grade a President, this President has done what he promised he would. Period

Now, in closing. If you are Republican or Democratic. Black or While. Christian or Muslim. Its time to end the hatred. Make your own opinion America. Dont judge someone just on their skin, or their "religion," or just because you do not agree 100% with the subject at hand. People will not always agree. Just because you do not like one stance of a person, does not mean you should then subjugate them on every other stance.

Feel free to comment below if you disagree, or agree. And comments or concerns with what is above is appreciated.

Tuesday, September 14, 2010

Baby Momma's and Baby Daddy's



I have come to realize something over the past few weeks, nay, the past few months. A growing...dare i say epidemic. Something that has, for the most part, engulfed the entire area in which i live. And my lovely snowflakes, the problem is sex. Teen sex at that.

Now, I know that today's society is more progressive than in past, its much more progressive. And with that, a number of new problems, like with any shift in the typical social ideal, was inevitably going to arise. And the main  problem i feel has arisen, is the glorification and just mainstream of sex. Now, DO NOT get me wrong, I love sex as much as any other person. But I also grew up with family and support that help me understand every single negative that goes along with the one positive. But somewhere in the past 10 years, a shift has happened. Now the message just is not getting through. I am just a few years removed from high school, but I still like to think i have the beat on things. Now when i was in 8th grade, just 7 years ago, i can remember how things were. Most of us were worried about our soccer match, or selling our old Pokemon cards to the unsuspecting 6th graders who did not know better. We all had hit puberty, but sex in 8th grade seemed only a dream. I went to a decent sized school, and you could count on a hand or two, the people having sex. The number was around maybe 5% were having sex. Mostly it was girls who got scammed by dreams of love to a boy in 9th grade. Sad, but it did happen then.

Fast forward 7 years now. I would honestly now say, that 5% number of girls having sex in 8th grade, has jumped to at least 20%. I would bet even higher. Go to 9th grade, i bet the number jumps to at least 35%, easy. And none of these kids should be coming anywhere near sex. I only wish that the sex was the problem.

These kids, who have sex at 12 or 13, have no clue whatsoever about fully what should go into having sex. And by the time they reach 16 or 17, they have been having sex on average as much as a mid 20's person would have 15 years prior. And no 16 year old kid has ANYWHERE near the mental capacity as they would  10 years down the road at 26. And with that "blissful ignorance," comes a sort of "god complex" with these kids. They think their isn't a chance they can catch a STD's. No chance they can get a girl pregnant. But they are. They are catching STD's, alot. They are getting pregnant, at a alarming rate. It blows my mind to go on my facebook and search for old friends from Fernandina and friends from Yulee. The amount of these people who have had kids by 18 or 19, BLOWING MY FUCKING MIND.

Now, im not trying to start some grass-roots movement to stop 15 year old kids from having sex. Im not a moron. I was 15 once. Sex dominates 90% of your day. From 13 on, it dominates your life. No, what i want, is for these kids to use the "big head" before using the "little head."

First for the guys. Guys, i know at 15/16/17, you may not have a car, or a job, or any of it. And possibly may be hard to find a place to buy condoms or even get the money to buy them. And I do not care. You go get you some condoms. If you have to go dig cans out and recycle them, you do it. Go to the health center where-ever you are. Most places will hand you a brown bag FULL OF CONDOMS. I know, I've done it and I've seen it done. Are they fullproof? No. but 99% or 98% sure beats trying to pull out 2 seconds before. We all know you wont do it.

Ladies, going to be mean, but its kinda more your fault then it is the guys. When it comes to sex, we shut down. We lose all complex thinking ability. In sex, you control all the cards. You control everything. You need to make sure we wear a condom, that we are clean. Everything. Because when it comes to getting sex, we will lie until we are blue in the face. And i know asking Mom to go on birth control is tough. But there is one line that i think is a great one to use. If she says no, just respond with something like this. "Mom, i'm going to have sex either way. Now, you can do the responsible thing and i will respect you for it. Or, you can act like i'm still your "precious angel", and you can help me raise your grandchild while i get my GED." Simple as that.

In closing, I hope I have shown a little light on this growing problem. I don't want to stop the sex, i want to stop the girls and guys who are having to throw their 20's and 30's away because they are now mothers and fathers before them themselves are out of high school. Use protection, be smart, use your mind. No condom, no sex. Simple as that. That happens, this goes away.